Learn what a peptide COA can establish, how HPLC purity differs from measured quantity, and which batch-specific questions a laboratory report leaves unanswered.
A peptide certificate of analysis (COA) records test results for an identified sample or batch. To read it, check which batch was tested, what each method measured, and what remains unmeasured. A high HPLC purity figure alone does not establish the amount of peptide in a vial, sterility, or safety and effectiveness in people.
This guide explains analytical documents for research materials. It does not assess a particular supplier or recommend a product for human use.
Match the product name and lot number to the material being evaluated. Then distinguish the specification—the acceptance requirement—from the result obtained. A line saying “purity ≥98%” may state a target without reporting a measurement.
FDA's ICH Q7 guidance describes batch-specific certificates with the material identity, release date, relevant expiry or retest information, tests, acceptance limits, numerical results where applicable, and authorization by the quality unit. It also addresses identification of the manufacturer and laboratory when certificates are reissued. Q7 concerns pharmaceutical ingredients; use these details as a document-reading reference, not proof that a research supplier meets pharmaceutical manufacturing requirements. FDA/ICH Q7, section 11.4
These measurements answer different questions:
| Reported measurement | What to look for | What it does not establish by itself |
|---|---|---|
| HPLC area purity | Method, detector conditions, chromatogram and integrated peak areas | Peptide mass per vial or clinical safety |
| Mass spectrometry | Expected and observed molecular mass, with the laboratory's interpretation | The amount of material in the vial |
| Quantitative peptide assay | Measured amount or content, units and calculation basis | Suitability for human administration |
NIST's archived RM 8327 report illustrates the distinction: it reports UV peak-area purity, peptide mass purity and molecular-mass measurements separately. Its methods define area purity from detector signals, while mass purity refers to peptide mass within the lyophilized material. This is an analytical example from 2007; the reference values expired in 2015 and are not a current product certification. NIST RM 8327
For a mass-spectrum report, ask the laboratory what identity conclusion its method supports. A reader should not turn an unexplained mass match into a claim that every structural feature has been verified.
Dry peptide material can contain water, salts, counterions and residual solvents as well as peptide-related impurities. MilliporeSigma distinguishes gross weight from net peptide content and notes quantitative amino acid analysis as a way to determine peptide amount. It explicitly separates content from purity. Peptide Quick Tips
Ask whether a label's milligrams mean gross powder, peptide content, or an assayed amount of the specified peptide. Also ask how the reported assay accounts for impurities. Do not automatically multiply the label weight by an HPLC percentage and call the result a verified amount.
That distinction matters when interpreting a laboratory experiment: a concentration calculation cannot repair an uncertain starting quantity.
The following is a fictional example, not a product test or an acceptable-use specification:
| Field on an example report | Example entry | Question still to resolve |
|---|---|---|
| Product and batch | Peptide X, lot PX-042 | Does the supplied material carry that same lot? |
| Purity specification | At least 98% | Is this only the acceptance threshold? |
| HPLC result | 99.1% area | Are the method and supporting chromatogram available? |
| Identity | “MS conforms” | What was measured, and what did it match? |
| Label quantity | 10 mg | Is this gross fill weight or measured peptide amount? |
| Quantitative assay | Not reported | Has quantity been tested separately? |
| Microbiological tests | Not reported | Which, if any, were performed on this material? |
The reasonable conclusion is limited: this document reports an HPLC result and an identity statement for a named lot. It does not answer the quantity or microbiological questions. Missing information is a reason to request clarification; it is not, by itself, proof that the report is fraudulent.
Read any microbiological claim as a separate test with its own method, units, sampling conditions and acceptance criterion. FDA's current endotoxin guidance addresses method suitability, sample handling and interference. A chemical purity percentage cannot substitute for that work, and an endotoxin result should not be read as a blanket statement about all contamination. FDA, Pyrogen and Endotoxins Testing, March 2026
Likewise, a favorable laboratory report does not establish clinical benefit. In an August 2026 warning letter, FDA explained that research-use labeling did not override evidence that the seller was marketing products as drugs for human use. A disclaimer or COA is not drug approval. FDA warning letter, August 24, 2026
Keep a copy of the complete report and write down the unresolved questions. For the fictional example above, a useful request would be:
“Please provide the supporting analytical report for lot PX-042, explain the identity result, and clarify whether the 10 mg label refers to gross weight or a separately assayed peptide amount. Please identify which microbiological tests, if any, were performed and what material was sampled.”
Where a laboratory offers report verification, reach it through independently located contact details and check that the report identifier corresponds to the document. Verification of a document still leaves the separate question of whether it represents the material supplied.
For compound-specific reading, use the compound library to locate the relevant evidence and its limitations. Keep the two questions separate: what the tested material contains, and what reliable research shows about the compound. Neither answer substitutes for the other.
Powered by BTST